A woman sat at a desk, looking at code on her computer.
picture of a child using crayons

TerraQuest News

- Jul 2020

What do DBS checks show?

Wondering what will show up on your DBS check? The Disclosure and Barring Service was designed to help employers make safer recruitment decisions and ensure the applicant is suitable for the role. Therefore, helping protect their business. There are three types of DBS checks, basic, standard and enhanced. Each of these checks will show different criminal record information.

Basic Checks

A basic DBS check will show details of any unspent convictions or conditional cautions applicants may have.

Standard Checks

A standard DBS check will show details of any unspent convictions, cautions, reprimands or warnings (if they are not protected).

With the applicant's consent, employers may perform this level of check for roles that require a specific level of responsibility.

Enhanced Checks

An enhanced DBS check will show the same details as a standard DBS check, but also, relevant information held by the applicant's local police force.

This level of check can also include a search of the DBS’s Children’s and/or Adult barred list. This will depend on the job in which the applicant is applying for. This level of check is mainly used for those who will come into contact with vulnerable adults and children (e.g. teachers, care workers, etc.).

The Filtering System

The filtering system is the process which identifies and removes protected convictions/cautions so they no longer show up on DBS certificates. Therefore, employers will not be able to take these old and minor cautions/convictions into consideration when making recruitment decisions. Cautions and convictions for specific serious offences will remain subject to disclosure on a DBS check.